Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Paper Piecing Resources? >

Paper Piecing Resources?

Paper Piecing Resources?

Old 08-11-2015, 08:15 AM

Default Paper Piecing Resources?

Good Morning!

I'm still pretty new to quilting...I would like to learn a bit more about paper piecing and wanted to ask if you all had suggestions for a website or link on these boards to maybe outline the basics? Maybe even the different types of paper piecing?

Thanks in Advance
Old 08-11-2015, 08:19 AM
Power Poster

Carol Doak is a wealth of information. http://www.caroldoak.com/index.php
go to her free patterns page and there is a 'simple' pattern to start with
Old 08-11-2015, 09:03 AM

Quilterscache.com is great too. Lots of patterns and tutorials too.
Old 08-11-2015, 09:10 AM
Power Poster

It depends on what you are looking for. There is a paperless paper piecing tutorial on QB where you fold the freezer paper back and stitch next to it. There is the paper piecing where you sew through the paper on lines like Carol Doak. There is paper foundation paper like Bonnie Hunter's Spiderweb free pattern at quiltville.blogspot.ca
Old 08-11-2015, 09:24 AM

I started with Quilterscache's instructions and then some free online patterns. Then I moved to Carol Doak's patterns and on to Judy Niemeyer and Norah McMeeking. I do the actual paper piecing where I sew on the lines. Both with JN and NM, I bought the preprinted papers. For CD, I bought a book and found that I had a tough time with copying the patterns -- I thought all the blocks were the same size and they ended up different somehow...and honestly I've never gone back to figure out how to fit them together to finish.

However the preprinted ones can be pricey, so I try to find them on resale on ebay, etc for people who bought and never made!
Old 08-11-2015, 09:41 AM

and this link just popped up when I logged back in LOL
http://www.quiltingboard.com/resourc...asics-131.html