Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Quilts without batting - any tips? >

Quilts without batting - any tips?

Quilts without batting - any tips?

Old 09-07-2015, 08:49 AM

Default Quilts without batting - any tips?

I am working on a tshirt quilt project for my niece. I didn't know what I was getting into - I am sure that she didn't either. Well I have 3 completed and I am finishing up #4 - whew!!

I used batting in the first 3 and this last one I was thinking about no batting. I have read posts here where people don't use batting for tshirt quilts... so I am going to do that

Any tips before I get started? I was going to pin baste and try the school glue as well. Can I stitch any distance apart? I was leaning toward stitching in the ditch of the sashing only. That would leave the 16" blocks "free and loose" do you think I should stitch from corner to corner on the blocks (making an X in each one)?

I would appreciate any thoughts. I have never done a quilt without batting before

Thank you!
Old 09-07-2015, 09:36 AM

It would help if we know whether you used stabilizer with the t-shirts, and if so, what kind.
Old 09-07-2015, 09:37 AM
Power Poster

If regular batting is too heavy, you could use flannel as the third layer. Somehow I am a traditionalist in that part of quilting.
Old 09-07-2015, 11:06 AM

I think any distance without quilting should be fine. Distance is specified by batting to keep it from separating or bunching up. Without batting you are sewing to protect those seams from abrasions and getting frayed
Old 09-07-2015, 11:09 AM

yes I did use stabilizer on the tshirts. I am always one to use batting - I mean is it really a quilt without it???? I have spent alot of money on this project and I really don't have money to spend any more. That is why I am skipping the batting on this one. I have thought of using flannel or either fleece in the middle.. but I have got to stop the spending
Old 09-07-2015, 01:05 PM