Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Quilting and Thread Suggestions for Fabric Calendar Quilt >

Quilting and Thread Suggestions for Fabric Calendar Quilt

Quilting and Thread Suggestions for Fabric Calendar Quilt

Old 12-18-2016, 05:38 AM

Default Quilting and Thread Suggestions for Fabric Calendar Quilt

Hello! I made this quilt for my mother out of old fabric hanging calendars that were saved by her mother (my BaBa!).

I am getting ready to sandwich the quilt, but am having a hard time deciding on the best quilting design to use, particularly in the calendars. The calendar fabrics tend to be a little looser woven, so I want to quilt it densely enough to prevent them from shifting. However, this is intended to be used while watching TV, so I would still like it to be snuggly. I am able to do free-motion quilting.... i'm not an expert, but I have been able to achieve a decent quality.

I am also looking for advice on the color of thread to be used, both in the cream-colored calendar area as well as the sashing/border. The colors in the picture of the whole quilt are fairly washed out, the second picture's colors are more accurate. If it affects your suggestions...... the backing will be mostly composed of the blue fabric bordering each of the calendars.

Thank you in advance.
Attached Thumbnails img_0116.jpg   img_0117.jpg  
Old 12-18-2016, 06:14 AM
Power Poster

I would not quilt the calendars densely if I were to do this. Even though the weave is looser then you are used to the fabric is still strong. ( linen)
I would stitch a grid on the calendar sections, squares around the months and do some free motion, detail quilting to highlight the photos, using a cream/ neutral thread.
Old 12-18-2016, 06:14 AM

i won't make a suggestion....but i love the quilt!
Old 12-18-2016, 07:25 AM

Just wanted to say what an incredibly beautiful quilt this is going to be.
Old 12-18-2016, 07:48 AM
Power Poster

How nice this has turned out!!!