Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > General Chit-Chat (non-quilting talk)
Deciding if I should buy a serger. >

Deciding if I should buy a serger.

Deciding if I should buy a serger.

Old 11-21-2017, 08:20 PM

Default Deciding if I should buy a serger.

I am trying to decide if I should buy a serger. I have been sewing for about 5 yrs. I love it. I make quilts (mostly donation quilts, almost 100 so far), table runners, & placemats. I have recently made a few garments and loved using the serger at my LQS. I don't see myself making a lot of clothing (unless I become a Gma), but I find myself wanting a serger. I appreciate your input. Thanks.
Old 11-21-2017, 08:28 PM
Power Poster

I like mine -

Are they essential? Probably not - but not many things are.

I was making quilted bags for a while - I overcast all the raw edges at each stage. I think the bags turned out nicer than when the edges were left raw.
Old 11-21-2017, 08:44 PM

I have one but haven't used it much...yet. I bought it used and it is a bit intimidating but I am taking a class at my LQS the end of this month to learn all about it. Anyway, I do a fair amount of garment sewing so it will come in handy there, but I watched a youtube video for making a quilt w/the serger that looked really simple so I hope to find more uses for it than just garments. I use to have a Singer Tiny Serger and I loved it!
Old 11-21-2017, 08:51 PM
Power Poster

A serger is a must if you make clothing. If you are only quilting, you won't need it.
Old 11-21-2017, 08:58 PM

Originally Posted by sewbizgirl View Post
A serger is a must if you make clothing. If you are only quilting, you won't need it.
I agree. I have a serger that I've had for years. I don't use it a lot, but when I do need it, I"m glad I have it. I use mine for garments, bags and some crafty type things. I guess it depends on how much "other than quilting" sewing you intend to do. I do quite a few quilted and wearable art garments so for me it's an essential.