Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Sideways / Directional Sewing >

Sideways / Directional Sewing

Sideways / Directional Sewing

Old 02-01-2018, 10:12 PM
FRG

Default Sideways / Directional Sewing

Hello,

I am very new to the sewing world and have a very specific task in mind. I am looking to sew stripes up the side of a pant leg and do not want to have to pull the inner seem apart to do this.

I have learned that some models of sewing machine have a "Sideways" or Directional Sewing option. I have been trying to research these machines and find what the average price for something with this feature is however essentially all the manufacture sites do not show prices and do not link to dealers with websites that have the ability to buy online.

I am hoping someone here may be able to give me insight into what the least I would have to spend on a machine that is capable of doing this task.

Thanks,

Doug
Old 02-01-2018, 10:24 PM

You can accomplish this by lowering your feed dogs. Feed dogs are those teeth under your presser foot that feed "guide" fabric under the needle automatically. When you lower the feed dogs, than you have to guide the fabric manually in the direction you want to go. This is called free-motion. Most machines have the ability to lower the feed dogs either by a switch or button. I gotta warn you, though...this takes practice because you now have to move fabric at the correct speed to ensure your stitch length stays uniformed. So, practice on scraps first... If there is another way to do "stitch sideways" I am not familiar with it.....
And, since it's a pant leg, this may prove difficult without opening a seam.
Welcome to the board...

Last edited by Teen; 02-01-2018 at 10:27 PM.
Old 02-01-2018, 10:30 PM
Banned