Kenmore model 83

Old 05-11-2018, 04:11 PM

Default Kenmore model 83

Newbie here, please be kind if I have missed finding previous information. I have searched as much as I could on here before joining.

I just picked up a Kenmore model 83 (a deal ? ) and trying to gather information. Model number is 117.831 so I see it is from 1938. I found that it is manufactured by White and should be the equivalent of a White Rotary model 77. Am I on track so far?

It is in working condition and seems to sew quite well for the little I have tried thus far, I need to get some oil for it before I go really testing it as I do not want want to damage it.

Questions I have so far are:

1. Can I drop feed dogs, and if so, how?
2. Where can I find attachments, most specifically a quilting foot if answer to #1 is yes?

I’m sure more will come up in time as this is brand new to me. Also going to post about another beauty I picked up same day.

Any information is greatly appreciated.

Gerry
Old 05-11-2018, 04:22 PM

Gerry, You have probably already googled for this machine manual, so have seen the same hits I did. I see that someone on Bonanza is advertising the manual for a a bit over $9, I think it was $9.47. Bonzanza is similar to e-bay. I have ordered a few things from them and was pleased with the service. Good luck with your search and using the machine.
Old 05-11-2018, 05:45 PM

Originally Posted by Gerry113 View Post
Questions I have so far are:

1. Can I drop feed dogs, and if so, how?
2. Where can I find attachments, most specifically a quilting foot if answer to #1 is yes?
Welcome, Gerry.