Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
2.5 inch strips >

2.5 inch strips

2.5 inch strips

Old 07-29-2018, 07:55 PM

Default 2.5 inch strips

I was just wondering what others do. I want to make a quilt (The Jelly Roll Jam pattern) that calls for 2.5" strips but I don't want to buy the precut jelly rolls with the pinked edges. What is the best way, do I get several fabrics cut in different colours or can I use fat quarters. How many fat quarters would I need to equal that of a jelly roll. I'm new to quilting and trying to get my head around a few things any advice is appreciated.
Old 07-29-2018, 07:59 PM

I just buy 1/4 yard of fabric - that will give you 3 strips with a small margin to straighten the edges. You can also get 4 different fabrics for the price of one yard. Which is usually cheaper than 4 fat quarters.
Old 07-29-2018, 08:08 PM

I purchase yardage as suggested by "quiltingcandy".
Old 07-29-2018, 08:13 PM

Thank you for your reply
Old 07-29-2018, 08:23 PM

A jelly roll will have strips that are 2.5" wide by WOF (width of fabric, which is usually 44-45").
A fat quarter measures 18"x 22" instead of a regular quarter (9xWOF) because it's often more usuable that way.
Some shops charge more for fat quarters. My favorite local shop does not. But my favorite "small cut" to ask for is 1/3 yard.
Old 07-30-2018, 01:13 AM
Administrator

the most sensible approach is the one suggested by quiltingcandy.
for most projects precut strips are far too expensive.
but if you need a wide variety of fabrics then they can make sense just for the convenience.
there are more fabric brands now selling precut strip rolls.
most of them are not pinked.
of course, nearly all of them have poorly cut strips - not matter the price.

i have two friends who have had very good experiences with the strip rolls sold by jordanfabrics.com
they swear that every strip is cut precisely.

shop around for rolls of non-pinked strips on sale.
Old 07-30-2018, 06:16 AM