Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Machine Embroidery
do you use a topper? >

do you use a topper?

do you use a topper?

Old 12-10-2018, 08:23 AM

Default do you use a topper?

At the class I took Friday, the presentor said a topper should be used in most cases. It was the first time I'd even heard the term.

I'm a newbie at this, so was wondering if this is something the more experienced people use, or just the presenter pushing it because the class was sponsored by the supplier.
Old 12-10-2018, 08:33 AM

Was she talking about a water soluble stabilizer? They are used for fabrics with a nap, velvet, terry cloth, fleece. It keeps the stitches from sinking into the fabric. If this was a class, she should have explained better.
I have heard of some people who use that for most everything.
Old 12-10-2018, 09:07 AM
Power Poster

Or was she talking about a table topper under the machine or cover for your machine? Need more info.
Old 12-10-2018, 04:57 PM

She was talking about a topper for the embroidery - either a heat n gone or a soluble product. Said to use the heat type for things with a nap so it would never go away, but a water soluble for most everything else. Exceptions were for non fabric items (leather, vinyl, balsam wood).

Besides the issue with nap (which I understand) her rationale was that the movement of the embroidery foot was going to cause stress and wear on the fabric and possible stretching with knits - and the topper would eliminate that.

I plan on using my embroidery for enhancing quilts, so figure it might not be something I need to be overly concerned about since my base fabric would be quilting cotton.
Old 12-10-2018, 07:07 PM

I use a WS topping for EMB when making labels and lettering. It keeps the stitches from sinking down into the fabric.
Old 12-11-2018, 02:06 AM