Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Should I Open a Brick & Mortar Fabric Shop? >

Should I Open a Brick & Mortar Fabric Shop?

Should I Open a Brick & Mortar Fabric Shop?

Old 02-22-2019, 11:46 AM

Default Should I Open a Brick & Mortar Fabric Shop?

Hello there! I’m a long time reader and first time poster, and would love to get some advice on whether opening a brick and mortar fabric shop is a good idea.
I’ve been a sewist of apparel, home dec, and quilts for about 13 years now. I absolutely love sewing and fabric, and it’s what I do in my free time when I’m not working (I’m currently a full-time office manager at an architectural firm). I would love to turn my hobby into a business and open a fabric shop. I would love to hear any advice from members that have opened their own shops (or have closed their own shops!) on what to expect, challenges, risks, etc. I know that at the beginning I will probably be working 60-80 hours a week and not turn a profit for a while. I have thought about starting small and doing online only, but I live in a tiny apartment and there’s just no room for me to store inventory!
I am also keenly aware that there have been many small fabric shops and LQS’s that have closed recently (I live in the Pacific Northwest, and we’ve had many recent fabric store closures, including Fabric Depot), and that making a living in this business is hard. That being said, I love the feeling I get when visiting a LQS, and would love to be part of that community.
Any advice you can give me on this topic will be greatly appreciated!
Old 02-22-2019, 11:51 AM

I am unable to offer any advice, but I want to welcome you to this forum and wish you well with your journey.
Old 02-22-2019, 11:53 AM

As a potential consumer I say yes! We also lost quiltwork patches this past year. FYI, I believe the owner of jannilous creations here in Philomath is looking for a buyer in the next couple of years, she would like to retire.
Old 02-22-2019, 12:03 PM