Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Surprisingly gifted a used but like new Tiara II >

Surprisingly gifted a used but like new Tiara II

Surprisingly gifted a used but like new Tiara II

Old 09-05-2019, 10:48 AM

Default Surprisingly gifted a used but like new Tiara II

I have only played with it once and need to get the tension perfected, but so far it seems pretty easy to use. Is there a particular brand and weight of thread that is recommended? And, any suggestions on how to perfect the tension - does it have to do with the speed you set and how fast you move the quilt through? (Can you tell I'm a beginner?) Any advice or suggestions appreciated. TIA
Old 09-05-2019, 10:57 AM

Can't answer your question, only envy your gift! Have fun!
Old 09-05-2019, 11:04 AM
Power Poster

Not familiar with the Tiara but Handiquilter makes all the Babylock midarms and longarms. Tension setting will be a constant variable for you, even from bobbin to bobbin. You get used to it and also used to tweaking tension. So many things impact it from type of thread to how tight the bobbin is wound to batting and even fabric. It seems a bit daunting at first but you will soon get used to checking tension constantly and tweaking it often. You may want to invest in a Towa tension guage for your bobbin.
Old 09-05-2019, 11:34 AM

What a wonderful gift! There are a lot of YouTube videos about tension for long arms. Check out HandiQuilter and Jamie Wallen. I found them helpful for my Sweet Sixteen which I understand is very similar to the Tiara. Most important, practice, practice, practice and have fun.
Old 09-05-2019, 07:16 PM

Helen Godden has some good videos on tension for the sitdown machines too.
Old 09-06-2019, 03:22 AM

Wow! What a gift!

I have a Tiara and it will quilt through anything with any thread, so far.

Some things I learned...You may already know these, of course....