Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Machine Embroidery
New Machine Hoop Options ? >

New Machine Hoop Options ?

New Machine Hoop Options ?

Old 05-13-2020, 04:23 AM

Default New Machine Hoop Options ?

I'm totally new to embroidery but have been interested and looking. Well, today's the day- I'm buying a new machine. For the question...

The machine I can afford and justify has a supplied hoop size of 7.9x7.9. There are smaller hoops available as options. So, is there any good reason to have a smaller hoop (say a 5x5) other than to save a bit of fabric? I do plan to make some clothing tags and labels, so the larger hoop would not be required, but if there's a benefit to having a couple sizes, purchasing with the new machine can save a few sheckels.

Thanks for your insights. You know I'll be back with questions once I have machine in hand.
Old 05-13-2020, 04:46 AM
Administrator

when i want to make a quantity of small things, such as labels or tags, i will do more than one at a time, positioning them within the boundaries of a large hoop.

i would wait until you see whether you really need optional hoops before buying any.
Old 05-13-2020, 05:03 AM

Mine came with a variety of sizes. I only ever use the large and extra large.
Old 05-13-2020, 01:53 PM

It is really going to depend on your projects. You may not need the smaller hoops. I have never used the smaller hoops (6x6 or 5x7) on my machine.
Old 05-13-2020, 04:06 PM

I bought a few extra hoops with my machine when I bought it. I also bought a few others afterwards when there was a great deal at the dealership.
The best money I spent was to buy the metal/magnetic hoop - you use magnets to hold your fabric in place. I almost always use this one, if at all possible. I also almost never use the smaller ones. I mostly use the embroidery function to make quilt labels or embroidery bags with it.
Old 05-14-2020, 03:20 AM