Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Fabrics Resources, and Other Things >

Fabrics Resources, and Other Things

Fabrics Resources, and Other Things

Old 06-01-2020, 03:29 PM

Default Fabrics Resources, and Other Things

Some of you found me when I introduced myself in another section of the Forum. I am a beginner, basically never having used a sewing machine, with the exception of a friend letting me have a little fun on theirs. So I have no real experience with anything other than hand sewing.

I went to Wally World today to look at fabrics that I might like. Big mistake! 40 mile round trip to find they were basically sold out of fabric, thread, and other things needed for sewing machines and quilting. This Corona virus scare has got a lot of people stocking up for the duration of the stay at home mandate.

So I am without fabric. My machine is supposed to arrive tomorrow. I just hope the machine functions, as it is a refurbished unit.

What I would like to ask is, are there good sources for fabrics that won't ruin your bank account.

I also haven't a clue about the thick cotton layer that goes between the front and the back layers. How thick is the material supposed to be, and where can you purchase it?

In my introduction, someone mentioned the basic colour thread required. I think it was white and grey, but not sure. Any help, on colours I should stock up on.

I think I found a source for extra bobbins on Amazon. I am figuring I should get 20 of them, so I have at least two coloured threads on bobbins stocked. Not sure that's enough.

What do you think about the bobbin and spools of threads packages on Amazon. Are they worth the cost?, or should I just go out and purchase the individual colours needed.

As for thread, what size thread should I purchase for the assembly of the little bits and pieces of fabrics, and what sized thread should I purchase when I get to putting the three layers of the quilt together.