Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
What are Jewel Tone Colors >

What are Jewel Tone Colors

What are Jewel Tone Colors

Old 09-28-2020, 10:58 AM

Default What are Jewel Tone Colors

Hi Everyone,
I am sitting here and reading the pattern directions for Bonnie Hunter's Cathedral Stars Quilt. She said to pick out all of my Jewel Tones strips for the blocks. Now, even thou I have been quilting for a few years I still have problem choosing fabric colors for making quilts. So, can any of you explain to me and give me some examples of Jewel Tone colors. Also. if you have made this quilt before please let me know? Thank you for your help.

Craft
Old 09-28-2020, 11:07 AM
Power Poster

Jewel tone colors are rich, vibrant colors
here is one definition:
Jewel tones are rich colors, which resemble well-known gemstones like emeralds, amethysts, rubies, topaz and sapphires. Some examples of jewel tones include emerald green, amethyst purple, ruby red, topaz yellow, sapphire blue, tourmaline green, and turquoise blue.
Old 09-28-2020, 11:08 AM

Jewel tone are colors like sapphire blue, ruby red, and jade. Here's an image I found when I did a search for "jewel tone colors".

As you can see, jewel tones are strong clear (not muddy) colors. (I'm not quite sure about the gold fabric in this image - it may or may not work well for what you want.)
Old 09-28-2020, 11:17 AM

Here are a selection of of jewel tone batik prints:
Old 09-28-2020, 02:40 PM
Power Poster

They are beautiful colors. I never see them in person. I think you would have to buy online or maybe some LQS nay have them.
Old 09-28-2020, 03:20 PM

I love jewel tone fabrics. I have a good stash of such fabric and at least one finds its way into most of my quilts.. The vibrant colors are a big draw to me almost as the colors in batiks draw me. Batiks are muted while the jewel tones jump out at you from a color beneath the one that pops out at you. Brilliant.
Old 09-28-2020, 04:40 PM