Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Need ideas for Combining patterns on scrap quilt >

Need ideas for Combining patterns on scrap quilt

Need ideas for Combining patterns on scrap quilt

Old 10-06-2020, 06:12 AM

Default Need ideas for Combining patterns on scrap quilt

Hi all,
I am a newbie quilter just finishing my second quilt.

Yesterday my 96 year old mom gave me 4.5 strips of a quilt she started years ago. The strips are a herringbone pattern made of random scrap bits that are 2” x 4 “. My mom made clothing all her life and had a large supply of scraps when she started it 25 years ago. She would be ecstatic if I could finish it but I don’t have multiple bins of scraps to draw from. The strips came with enough scraps that I can finish the partially completed strip.

I thought that maybe I could put her strips in the centre and then add larger blocks of a different design all around to finish it while only needing a few fabrics. Does anyone have any suggestions for relatively large and easy blocks that might look ok when combined with multicoloured small- pieced central strips? Or maybe another way of using the strips? At this point I have one piece composed of 4 strips sewn together that is 18x 54”, and the single partial strip.

I would be machine quilting it on my mom’s 1950’s Necchi.

thanks very much for any suggestions!

Rrainea in Canada
Old 10-06-2020, 07:22 AM
Power Poster

Welcome Rrainea ... from one Canadian to another!
So happy to have you join us here on the Quilting Board.

This is an lovely project for you to complete for your Mom.
And will bring joy to both of you.

With your measurements, adding on the 5th strip, would give you 22-1/2" x 54". Simply, it could become a bed runner, requiring very little "new" fabrics. Otherwise, my first thought rather than adding blocks, would be to find a coordinating fabric that you could run strips of it between the pieced strips you already have, as well as use as a border.