Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
questions about bias >

questions about bias

questions about bias

Old 11-16-2020, 07:29 PM

Default questions about bias

As a self taught quilter, I have picked up a lot of bad habits. Some, I have chosen to work on correcting, some I am okay accepting as just my personal quirks. So, I am here to learn more about my bad habits with bias....

1. I understand that poor ironing techniques and using steam can stretch bias. If you are squaring up the block anyway, does it really matter? I am sure there is an efficiency aspect to doing it right, but if the plan is already there to square up the block, how much does it really matter?

2. If the piece of fabric or the pieced block itself is just a hair undersize, can you intentionally stretch out the block using the give of the bias to help make up that difference?

yes, I know there afre no quilt police and I can do whatever I want. so let me rephrase by asking what the technical advantages and disadvantages are, then I will make my decision about changing my habits or not.

Thanks!
Old 11-16-2020, 07:56 PM
Power Poster

It is best to be gentle with bias edges for a better result.
Old 11-16-2020, 09:03 PM

When you square-up a block, you're likely to loose your points. So accuracy is always better than having to square-up.
Old 11-16-2020, 09:11 PM