Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Need some help with machine embroidery >

Need some help with machine embroidery

Need some help with machine embroidery

Old 05-12-2022, 12:21 PM

Default Need some help with machine embroidery

I have been quilting for quite a few years now, do most of my piecing by hand. I have made a Unicorn quilt (appliqued) for my GGD. I want to add a little bit of pizzazz and embellish the outline with metallic thread that I can sew on the machine (my hand embroidery skills are abysmal).
I bought some Schmetz titanium machine needles (specifically for machine embroidery) and a spool of Sulky embroidery thread, but am getting beyond frustrated. I do not have an embroidery machine, but I thought I could do straight stitch on my Brother machibe. I have not been able to thread my needle without the strands separating.. Eventually, I was able to thread all the strands one by one, but that makes horrendous " bird a nests" on the back.
I am sure I am not the only one to do the embellishment so I am positive that somebody on the Board can tell me how to correct my issues. Any tips are helpful. TIA
Old 05-12-2022, 01:26 PM
Gay

Are you certain the thread is secure in the tension discs. I haven't had this problem but I do know metallic threads need a special needle with a large eye, mainly to stop breakage. Also there can be an issue with thread twisting.
The other alternative is to put metallic thread on a bobbin and same color normal thread on top, and sew from the back. If you can't see the outline from the back I would suggest stitching the outline in a matching color so you can see where to sew from the back. You may need to decrease tension on the bobbin.
Old 05-12-2022, 02:01 PM

Default Machine embroidery