Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Help needed: backing fabric puckering >

Help needed: backing fabric puckering

Help needed: backing fabric puckering

Old 02-01-2023, 04:11 AM

Default Help needed: backing fabric puckering

I'm fairly new to quilting and have run into a problem with my latest project. Every time I quilt the backing it ends up wrinkling. I've tried various solutions -
I've changed the backing fabric
I've pinned with smaller gaps
I've increased stitch length to 3
I've slowed the stitching right down
I'm using a new needle

None of it has worked.

I don't think it's the original sandwich because I've been so careful; securing the fabric to my conservatory floor with tape and then smoothing from the centre out.
But after 6 attempts I'm still getting the problem you can see in the photo

About to unpick yet again and am thinking that it might be easier to do some echo quilting of each block starting from the centre rather than straight lines. (I'm not up to anything more sophisticated than that at the moment)

Thoughts???
Attached Thumbnails img_1601.jpg  

Last edited by KarenHD; 02-01-2023 at 04:13 AM. Reason: Attachment was missing
Old 02-01-2023, 04:42 AM
Power Poster

Hmm that is a dilemma! I know others will come in and offer good suggestions. My first thought is that maybe when you are taping the backing to the floor you are pulling it too taut? And then when it releases it bounces back?
Old 02-01-2023, 04:48 AM

Are you using a walking foot when quilting? You might want to lengthen the stitch length and if possible reduce the foot pressure.
Old 02-01-2023, 05:27 AM

Thanks Lena, yes I'm using a walking foot. When I started I was using 2.5 stitch length but have now increased that to 3 and it's still an issue. Should I go up to 3.5?
When I look a the stitching closely, I can see that sometimes the stitches are smaller than they should be

I don't have the ability on my machine to change the foot pressure though
Old 02-01-2023, 05:28 AM