Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Math formulas >

Math formulas

Math formulas

Old 11-09-2023, 07:56 AM

Default Math formulas

I am very new to quilting and I want to make a log cabin quilt . Where can I find a formula to figure out how much yardage is needed to make a king size log cabin quilt. I have search and have not been able to find. I have seen 12 yards for light size and 12 yards for the dark side but nothing saying how to divide that 12 yards with the 3 colors for each size I’m sure it’s not 12 yards for each color. Can anyone point me into the right direction
Old 11-09-2023, 08:35 AM

Welcome to the boards!

Often books will have charts. You can do a simple search on "log cabin quilt yardage chart" that will show some examples that might lead you to a paid site/pattern that might be very much worth it to you. I typically make my own patterns with graph paper or using the Electric Quilt program. You can draw out your block (tape together multiple sheets if needed) and then measure the logs remembering to add 1/2" for the standard seam allowance no matter if your logs finish to 1" or 4" -- is always in quilting 1/4" seam allowance (1/2 for both sides). It is probably easiest to always use the short measurement for your across count, and make longer strips for the log length. For example, if you use a 2" (finished) log, then your cut logs will be 2.5" x some length. Using a 40" wof, you can get (16) cuts per strip. You need to remember both your "short" and "long" parts need to be cut. You then need to know how many blocks you will need -- divide that by 16 to find how many strips. Probably will be some form of a couple of full rows and a partial -- remember that you can use those partial rows for shorter pieces, unless you are using different fabrics for each row.