Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > General Chit-Chat (non-quilting talk)
Stressed OUT and need some encouragement >

Stressed OUT and need some encouragement

Stressed OUT and need some encouragement

Old 03-02-2010, 06:35 PM

and I know you all are so good about providing it!

I have been in my position for over two years now. I am an independent contractor within the court system. I'm a guardian ad litem and advocate for kids involved in child protection and divorce cases. So, stressful by itself. Now add on top of that that the state is converting all contractor positions over to employees. This is great, benefits, PTO, more support, ect. The bad part comes in now. They have to post all of the positions and we all have to reapply and reinterview for our jobs.

My district manager has informed us that they are planning to hire for 13 FTE jobs. He would not give a straight answer about how many contractors there actually are in the district right now. They are also expecting to get a lot of outside applications on top of those of us who are already doing the job. So, at this point, I have about 3 months of not really knowing if I'm going to have a job come July 1. His comment was that they may wait to do interviews until June if they have a lot of contractors to interview and not a lot of outside apps.

DH keeps reassuring me that I'm doing a good job and they keep appointing me to cases so I can't be doing too bad no matter what I feel like! I'm just stressed and worried that come July 1 I'm going to be out of a job and not even qualify for unemployment because I'm a contractor.

Sorry for the rant and thanks for reading this far. I just need to vent to someone other than DH. Hopefully they won't draw this out too much! :?
Old 03-02-2010, 06:38 PM
Power Poster

Just remember you already have your foot in the door. They already know you, know your work ethic and history. Puts you ahead of the walk in apps :wink: Just think positive
{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{HUGS}}}}}}}}}}}}}]]