Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
"Copying" and Copyrights.... >

"Copying" and Copyrights....

"Copying" and Copyrights....

Old 04-29-2010, 12:02 PM

Mkay...I know this may be a touchy subject but I'm new to the world of quilt patterns and such. I've sewn for a long time. Drafting things on graph paper. So.....what's the parameters for using blocks?

Like, anyone can make a nine patch. It's not hard to come up with, right? What about a pinwheel? An applique basket? Bear claw? You may not be able to imagine those in your mind...but if you SAW it...you could probably figure it out. So, are you doing anything "bad" by liking something, and then making it? Is there a quilting rulebook somewhere?
Old 04-29-2010, 12:07 PM
Administrator

fix a beverage, and use the search (top of the page) to find our many, many discussions of the subject. tons of posts. :-)
Old 04-29-2010, 12:10 PM

OOps....thanks Patrice! Didn't know there was a horse, ready to be beaten. :D
Old 04-29-2010, 12:13 PM
Administrator

poor horsie gets abused too much. now he can rest and recover while you read. :-)
Old 04-29-2010, 12:13 PM

Originally Posted by Rebecca VLQ
OOps....thanks Patrice! Didn't know there was a horse, ready to be beaten. :D
Don't worry, and always ask. But you will learn that the search is a very valuable tool here. Like she said, get a beverage. The last thread I read about this was reaaaaaaaally long.
Old 04-29-2010, 12:27 PM
Power Poster

I've made a couple of quilts completely "on my own" - and few weeks or months later, I've seen something very similar in a book or magazine that is/was copyrighted.

There was no way I could have copied something I had never seen.
Old 04-29-2010, 12:49 PM
Gal