Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
old pillow cases >

old pillow cases

old pillow cases

Old 02-26-2007, 05:31 PM

My mother had many old flour sacks or pillow cases, and I would like to
make a quilt out of them. Do you have any pattern or have you maded a quilt like this? I would like to know how I might get this started. I
thought that I might use the design as the center and use the color area
for the surrounding to form a square. I am new at quilting so I don't
have the know how and knowledge of how to start. Need your help.
Edwina
Old 02-26-2007, 05:54 PM

Please describe the flour sacks. Are they printed all over...or do they just have some designs in some places? This is hard to figure out. Do you have a digital camera and can you send us a photo?

Some of the old feed sacks were printed all over. I remember those as a girl because we made skirts out of them. My Mother never made a quilt so I never saw this in progress. However, there are designs for quilts made in the 30's and 40's. Some of the other members should be able to help you with designs. But it would be helpful to have more of a word picture of exactly what you are looking at when you see these flour sacks. How big? etc.

Welcome to our group...if you are new. Since you are new to quilting, you will get lots of specialized help here. Just wait a bit....responses will come flooding in . OK girls, go to it!!!

June
Old 02-27-2007, 03:48 AM

i would but i'm not quite old enough, i did have baby clothes made from flour and feed sacks tho
Old 02-27-2007, 05:10 AM
Administrator

does she have to use any specific pattern in particular? couldn't she just cruise through block patterns and use whatever is pleasing to her eye and easy enough for a beginner?

Edwina - don't start setting limits or obsessing about rules. quilting is for fun, self expression, fun, sharing, fun, relaxation ... and ... did i mention ... FUN???!!!???