Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Figuring out how much binding you need

  1. #1
    Super Member Corky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Beautiful Washington State
    Posts
    1,088

    Figuring out how much binding you need

    I know this might be a simple thing for most of you, but I finally figured out a formula that works for me. Maybe it will help some of you. Add sides and top/bottom measurements together: 66"+66"+82"+82" = 296. Then add 20" for corners, seams, connecting the ends. I've used this formula for my last three quilts and it works like a charm with little waste. Duh!
    You have brains in your head.
    You have feet in your shoes.
    You can steer yourself any direction you choose.
    You’re on your own. And you know what you know. And YOU are the guy who’ll decide where to go. (Dr. Seuss)

  2. #2
    Moderator QuiltnNan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    western NY formerly MN, FL, NC, SC
    Posts
    48,053
    Blog Entries
    53
    thanks for the tip.
    Nancy in western NY
    before you speak T.H.I.N.K.
    T – is it True? H – is it Helpful? I – is it Inspiring? N – is it Necessary? K – is it Kind?

    Life may not be the party we hoped for, but while we are here we might as well dance.

  3. #3
    Super Member Corky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Beautiful Washington State
    Posts
    1,088
    I should have added that I measure the cut strips first, WOF so for 296" + 20", I would need to cut 7.5 strips. Anyway, seems like a no-brainer, but I think the tip has more to do with the 20" added.
    You have brains in your head.
    You have feet in your shoes.
    You can steer yourself any direction you choose.
    You’re on your own. And you know what you know. And YOU are the guy who’ll decide where to go. (Dr. Seuss)

  4. #4
    Super Member quiltsRfun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    8,601
    Blog Entries
    1
    I use the Robert Kaufman app. It also calculates yardage needed to make the binding.

  5. #5
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Nebraska
    Posts
    2,707
    I use the Robert Kaufman app, also. It will do many useful calculations for you.
    Thanks, Corky, for sharing the method that works for you, though.
    Last edited by suern3; 07-05-2017 at 03:40 PM.

  6. #6
    Power Poster Jingle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Outside St. Louis
    Posts
    33,937
    I get lucky fairly often and by luck I have maybe 6 - 12" left at the most.

    I do think I will try your way and see how that works for me. Thanks.
    Another Phyllis
    This life is the only one you get - enjoy it before you lose it.

  7. #7
    Super Member jmoore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Boothbay Maine
    Posts
    7,787
    Blog Entries
    2
    Thanks Corky...20 is an easy number to remember. I'll give it a try on my next project.
    attitude is everything...the rest will fall into place.

  8. #8
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Davenport, Iowa
    Posts
    2,131
    I always figure out the number of inches to go around the quilt (296), and divide that by the width of the fabric (40) after salvages are cut off which would be 7.4 strips....and cut 8 strips which allows for corners and starting and ending points. Very little waste to go into the scrap pile. Guess we use practically the same system!!

  9. #9
    Super Member patsan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Long Island
    Posts
    1,323
    I have a "Quilter's FabriCalc" that I bought at Joann. Works fantastic for so many calculations.
    Pat
    Brother NQ 3500D
    HQ Avanté

  10. #10
    Senior Member husker67's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    377
    Thanks so much for the tip. I saw a tute on YouTube but I either forget who it was or just get too lazy to look it up. I'll try your method and keep it handy!!
    Connie

  11. #11
    Super Member Snooze2978's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Carroll, Iowa
    Posts
    2,299
    I basically do the same as you but only add 10" extra and I have had no problems with it.
    Suz in Iowa
    Designer EPIC, Brother XR3140
    Babylock Evolve, Innova 26" LS, MQR
    ProQ Designer, EQ7, Embird

  12. #12
    Power Poster
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Corpus Christi, Tx.
    Posts
    15,970
    Blog Entries
    3
    Just saw a Kaye Woods video and this is how she does it. The same way I've done it. Doesn't matter if we add more, just a nice piece of scrap strip/no waste.
    Quote Originally Posted by Snooze2978 View Post
    I basically do the same as you but only add 10" extra and I have had no problems with it.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.