Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Applique >

Applique

Applique

Old 02-10-2011, 05:06 AM

I'm new to appliqueing. I've tried it. I've got some rooster patterns that I bought that are really great,but I need to know how to do them correctly. Should i startch the fabric? I would like to know how to needle turn. I have a big project coming up for my grandson who wants a pirate quilt. Oh happy days. I plan to hand quilt it as well. I've been quilting for quiteawhile,but I taught myself. now I need help. Any advice/
Old 02-10-2011, 05:14 AM

are you using fusible to applique the rooster? if so, then you could starch. I needleturn applique and would not want the fabric starched. that would make it too difficult for turning under scant edges, at least I think it would. I do a backwards applique, technique-wise. I trace the entire pattern onto the back of the background, then place the piece to be appliqued on the front, baste around the outside edge with a larger size needle than the applique needle (I use size 11) then turn over, trim leaving a scant 1/4-1/16" edge, depending on the piece. Then, I needle turn the edges, removing the basting as I go. This makes for really easy and nice curved pieces and is a piece of cake on the straight-away pieces. In fact, this way is so easy, I usually can be found, riding the subways to and from work, with applique in my hands. I can do this even on a crowded train as long as I have a seat.

Laurie
Old 02-10-2011, 05:45 AM

Thank you so much for your help. I was helping at a quilt show and missed the demonstration on the process you wrote about. I will try this.
Old 02-10-2011, 06:17 AM
Power Poster