Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums >
  • Main
  • Cross Bookmarks >
  • Cross Bookmarks

• Cross Bookmarks

Old 11-20-2016, 04:55 PM

Default Cross Bookmarks

Hi. I am a little late requesting this for me to make. I wanted to make 6-8 cross bookmarks, log cabin pattern.
    I am new to log cabins, however, I have seen the larger Cross wall hangings that are so beautiful. I would love a pattern on how to make the log cabin cross for a bookmark. Unless I should use a different pattern, maybe I am over thinking on how to make it----nooooo, not me!
    Will welcome any thoughts, patterns or links.
    Old 11-20-2016, 05:22 PM
    Power Poster

why not graph it up on paper. I don't think it could be that hard. Log cabins are fun and easy. You can do it. please show us how they came out.
    Old 11-20-2016, 06:51 PM

Quarter inch quad graph paper and it would be easy to paper piece it. Draw it up first to get the idea of what to sew next then go for it. Great idea.
    Old 11-21-2016, 07:37 AM

I think you could get graph paper and draw out your own design (as the other members have said). This is what I do when I want to down size or increase a quilt block. I am sure you can do it easily and good luck. Please share your finished project with us-we all love to see how creative people do on this QB.
    Old 11-21-2016, 09:36 AM
    Power Poster

I don't think the cross Log Cabin would work for a book mark. Even one row around a 1/2 center block is going to make for a giant book mark. You need two log cabin blocks for the top and 2 log cabin rectangles for the bottom. Going any smaller then 1/2 inch and the seam allowances are going to start over lapping.
    Old 11-21-2016, 08:44 PM

Originally Posted by Tartan