Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums >
  • Main
  • fusible batting, what did I do wrong? >
  • fusible batting, what did I do wrong?

• fusible batting, what did I do wrong?

Old 11-24-2014, 08:02 AM

Default fusible batting, what did I do wrong?

This is my first time using fusible batting, it's Hobbs 80/20. I ironed it all out nicely last night and stitched a couple of rows of ditching. This morning when I went to start quilting again I discovered that the layers are coming unstuck. Was my iron not hot enough, too hot???? Do I press it again or should I get out the pins?
    Old 11-24-2014, 09:06 AM

I've only used fusible batting a couple of times in table runners--I am not a fan. I did learn not to start quilting on it right away. Let the item set for a few hours so the glue has time to really set. Did you start quilting just after fusing it? If I were you, I'd try repressing it, let it sit awhile and see what happens. Then if it still doesn't stick, get out those pins.

Be careful and check the item carefully before you start to stitch. I was smoothing mine and felt something between the layer--felt very hard and shaped like an Advil tablet. I opened the layers and it was a glob of glue. Imagine what would have happened if I'd hit that with my needle.
    Old 11-24-2014, 10:02 AM
    Power Poster