Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums >
  • Main
  • heirloom? >
  • heirloom?

• heirloom?

Old 01-15-2014, 01:47 PM

Default heirloom?

see a LOT of declarations of "i'm not making heirloom quilts" and it always stops me.

what does it mean to say that with certainty?

the only way to know if a quilt will become an heirloom is to see 3 or 4 generations into the future. you never know what might be considered an heirloom from the point of view of the present.

this includes award winning show quilts. they may not endure at all, while that utility qult or memory quilt could find its way into collection for reasons we cannot predict.

always makes me think about the ways we make history is all

aileen
    Old 01-15-2014, 02:11 PM

well some of my quilts I don't expect to last 5 years let alone become a heirloom..... I am still learning, hoping that someday I will have enough experience to know how to make a quilt that I love enough to hope is still around when I am 90
    Old 01-15-2014, 02:15 PM
    Power Poster

Good post. And look at all the "heirloom" quilts that we find in thrift stores. They lasted, but, they ended up looking for love in an unlikely place. I don't expect my quilts to live forever. I quilt mainly for my own pleasure and if someone ends up with one of mine, and enjoys it, that is satisfaction enough for me.
    Old 01-15-2014, 02:33 PM
    Power Poster

When I say that it is because I make quilts that I want to make. The only way they could become heirloom in my opinion is to not use them and store as museums would store them. Not gonna happen. The ones I have given away get the daylights washed out of them. They are washed as often as bedsheets. Most people don't want to take proper care of them.
    I make quilts because I love all the process and I'm trying to use up my stash and fabrics. I bought it for me to use. My oldest Daughter and oldest Granddaughter will have to decide what to do with the many,many ones I leave behind.