Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums >
  • Main
  • Inquiry: how to quilt top piece differently from bottom piece? >
  • Inquiry: how to quilt top piece differently from bottom piece?

• Inquiry: how to quilt top piece differently from bottom piece?

Old 03-12-2023, 08:21 AM

Default Inquiry: how to quilt top piece differently from bottom piece?

Hi everyone, I am new to quilting and wanted to know how you make a quilt with a top quilting design that is different from the bottom quilting design. I was thinking of getting the top piece and batting and quilting that separately, then quilting the bottom piece with its own batting separately. I'm concerned about the two layers of batting moving in between so I am considering using adhesive spray to stick the top and bottom pieces together. Then finally finishing off with binding. I would appreciate any thoughts or suggestions on how this project might work best. Thank you for any information .

Last edited by Itchystitchy; 03-12-2023 at 08:22 AM. Reason: Grammatical error with title
    Old 03-12-2023, 09:02 AM
    Power Poster

Why do you want different quilting designs on top and bottom? The purpose of quilting is to hold the quilt sandwich - the entire quilt sandwich - together. I don't think adhesive spray would do the job.
    Old 03-12-2023, 09:05 AM

I think you're on the right track. Doing minimal quilting through all layers after stitching them individually would keep them together, and probably a light weight batting so your quilt won't be too heavy.
    Old 03-12-2023, 10:02 AM

Originally Posted by dunster
    Why do you want different quilting designs on top and bottom? The purpose of quilting is to hold the quilt sandwich - the entire quilt sandwich - together. I don't think adhesive spray would do the job.
    Hi Dunster,