Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums >
  • Main
  • Need Help >
  • Need Help

• Need Help

Old 04-28-2014, 07:54 AM

Default Need Help

I'm making a tablerunner out of the pictured fabric. I want to do 9 inch blocks down the center but don't know what to do in between the blocks and around the border. I have some coordinating fabric to use. I don't want just a plain straight border, maybe hst or something. Also, I'm not sure about the off white fabric. The background of the main fabric is a lot darker than showing in the picture. It is more gold and dark yellow. Do you think the off white would be too stark with the dark fabrics? Anyone have suggestions or patterns I can try? I'm very new at quilting. Thanks in advance for your help.

[ATTACH=CONFIG]473434[/ATTACH]
    Attached Thumbnails terries-tablerunner.jpg  
    Old 04-28-2014, 08:00 AM

Well I am pretty new too, but I agree the white is stark. I love the turquoise/green but HST with the gold, not too sure about that. Hope some more experienced person comes to your rescue. Will look forward to seeing the picture of finished project.

I don't know what size the repeat is. Could you fussy cut the print and mix it up with some pinwheels? I've been wanting to do something with similar fabric but haven't purchased because I didn't know what to do. Thanks for the inspiration.
    Power Poster

I would go with more cream than stark white. The cream would be enough to make it pop. Love the pattern material.
    Old 04-28-2014, 08:09 AM
    Power Poster

Pretty fabric! You can do the 10 minute tablerunner with just two fabrics. I would try that one with the picture fabric and the tan.
    You could also do the French Braid one that starts with a focus square in the center with braids on both ends. I have made prettier ones using this pattern but thus the only one I have around right now.
    Attached Thumbnails image.jpg  

Last edited by Tartan; 04-28-2014 at 08:11 AM.
    Old 04-28-2014, 08:11 AM
    Power Poster