Cradle for 301

Old 06-04-2018, 04:37 AM
  #1  
Super Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 2,834
Default Cradle for 301

I bought a 301 in a really nasty cabinet a while back. It will require stripping at the least. I have a couple of other Singer cabinets that are not in such bad shape. Can I use that cradle in any Singer cabinet? How hard is it to uninstall and reinstall?

bkay
bkay is offline  
Old 06-04-2018, 06:18 AM
  #2  
Super Member
 
OurWorkbench's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 4,280
Default

Originally Posted by bkay View Post
I bought a 301 in a really nasty cabinet a while back. It will require stripping at the least. I have a couple of other Singer cabinets that are not in such bad shape. Can I use that cradle in any Singer cabinet? How hard is it to uninstall and reinstall?

bkay
Probably not hard at all if someone has NOT taken a hacksaw to it to make it fit a Kenmore cabinet.

I'm thinking that probably an empty cradle would be easier to install in a cabinet than a regular sewing machine. Those cradles make it really easy to get a 301 out of the cabinet.


Janey - Neat people never make the exciting discoveries I do.
OurWorkbench is offline  
Old 06-04-2018, 07:51 AM
  #3  
Junior Member
 
RotaryQueen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 105
Default

I bought a cabinet and put a cradle into it. The thing to watch is the hardware in front that the cradle attached to when it is up. It requires a flat front surface. Many singer cabinets have a ledge that the machine sits on. You could still use that cabinet if you cut off the ledge and if it still is the right size opening for the cradle.[ATTACH=CONFIG]595461[/ATTACH]301 cabinet[ATTACH=CONFIG]595462[/ATTACH]singer 66 cabinet with 201 in it. See the ledge in front?
Attached Thumbnails 2018-06-04-08.45.30.jpg   20180604_084556.jpg  
RotaryQueen is offline  
Old 06-04-2018, 10:53 AM
  #4  
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Victorian Sweatshop Forum
Posts: 4,096
Default

I could be wrong but IIRC, the cradle won't fit in a cabinet that has the "flap" on the right side of the opening, it has to be a cabinet that has the opening for a 401/500 series and up, with the straight across front opening, and RotaryQueen is right, it has to have those front clips. The cradle attaches to the hinge pins just like a machine does.

Cari
Cari-in-Oly is offline  
Old 06-04-2018, 12:12 PM
  #5  
Super Member
 
Macybaby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 8,143
Default

there are two types of front support for the 300/400/500 machines. The cradle fits into hooks on them, while the other machines rest on the support itself. So if you have front supports for a 400/500 they may not have the hook part the 300 cradle needs.

This is a picture of the front supports Without the hook for the 301 cradle. Just so you know there is a difference.

Macybaby is offline  
Old 06-05-2018, 04:13 AM
  #6  
Super Member
 
lovelyl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: SW Ohio
Posts: 2,103
Default

Originally Posted by Cari-in-Oly View Post
I could be wrong but IIRC, the cradle won't fit in a cabinet that has the "flap" on the right side of the opening, it has to be a cabinet that has the opening for a 401/500 series and up, with the straight across front opening, and RotaryQueen is right, it has to have those front clips. The cradle attaches to the hinge pins just like a machine does.

Cari
Cari, can the flap be removed and then the cradle installed? I have a 301 cradle and a Singer model 40 cabinet with a flap on the right side. Is there a way to use my cabinet with the 301 cradle? TIA
lovelyl is offline  
Old 06-05-2018, 07:04 AM
  #7  
Super Member
 
Macybaby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 8,143
Default

you can cut off the lip, then install the front supports. I swapped front flaps on two cabinets so I could put a 403 in a cabinet that had a 15 in it to start with. However I swapped them back when DH decided he didn't want to use the 403.

Forgot that you do have a cabinet for the 301 - can you take that flap and install it in the nicer cabinet? It may be a better option to refinish the flap and trade them than modifying the original. Though if you never plan on going back, then you'll not have a problem.

I've got around 20 different singer cabinets, and a few with the cradle setup and a few that were for the newer machines.

Last edited by Macybaby; 06-05-2018 at 07:10 AM.
Macybaby is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
PatriciaPf
For Vintage & Antique Machine Enthusiasts
17
02-26-2016 04:22 PM
miriam
General Chit-Chat (non-quilting talk)
31
01-14-2016 01:45 PM
Yamaha_Mama
For Vintage & Antique Machine Enthusiasts
4
07-04-2012 03:13 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


FREE Quilting Newsletter