Elna supermatic double cams

Old 06-20-2012, 11:45 AM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Mt. Vernon, VA
Posts: 145
Default Elna supermatic double cams

I received a gift that still has me grinning like a fool - a box of 23 elna discs! ( in case i had any doubts, my husband is the best!)

HOWEVER I can' seem to get them to work! My single discs work great, but the double cams seem to be doing only part of the stitch... I followed the instructions (ok, not at first, but eventually), and have the stitch length set on "A", width tried at all possible settings.

Operator error (the most likely cause)?

Or does my baby need fixing?

Trene is offline  
Old 06-20-2012, 12:14 PM
  #2  
Power Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 15,506
Default

Check with the manual - there are special settings for the doubles
miriam is offline  
Old 06-20-2012, 02:00 PM
  #3  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Mt. Vernon, VA
Posts: 145
Default

I 'think' I am following the manual instructions, but not working. Either I ammissing something, or the Elna is!
Trene is offline  
Old 06-21-2012, 03:16 AM
  #4  
Z
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Guam
Posts: 160
Default Elna cams/discs

Do you have the original supermatic or one of the Supermatic 62C or 64? I don't believe that the doubles will work on
the original. You need to set the stitch length at some length on the 62 or 64.


Originally Posted by Trene
I received a gift that still has me grinning like a fool - a box of 23 elna discs! ( in case i had any doubts, my husband is the best!)

HOWEVER I can' seem to get them to work! My single discs work great, but the double cams seem to be doing only part of the stitch... I followed the instructions (ok, not at first, but eventually), and have the stitch length set on "A", width tried at all possible settings.




Operator error (the most likely cause)?

Or does my baby need fixing?

Z is offline  
Old 06-23-2012, 12:16 PM
  #5  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Mt. Vernon, VA
Posts: 145
Default

Z - I have an original, early '50s, but it has the set up to run on doubles (i can set the elnagraph stitch length to "A"). I have done some twidling with it, and got ONE of the double discs to wok - but I have to adjust for each one! A bit frustrating, but at least I am learning more about my machine!
Trene is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
jljack
For Vintage & Antique Machine Enthusiasts
10
12-03-2020 01:38 PM
Candace
For Vintage & Antique Machine Enthusiasts
29
09-04-2015 08:40 PM
bcsews
For Vintage & Antique Machine Enthusiasts
17
09-30-2012 05:51 PM
GrannieAnnie
Links and Resources
0
07-01-2011 01:06 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


FREE Quilting Newsletter