Help with 15-91

Old 05-07-2016, 10:37 AM

Default Help with 15-91

I have a "new" 15-91 I want to set up for FMQ. Stitches looked good, but when I try to quilt, the machine skips stitches. It will skip on straight and curved lines. It sometimes won't pick up the bobbin thread (which would cause the skipped stitches ). I cleaned and oiled it and put in a new needle. Double checked my threading and bobbin and position of the needle. Still having problems. The man I bought it from was using it to sew leather, I'm wondering if the tension is skrewed up. The stitches look good (except for the skipped ones!) so I thought the tension was OK, but I'm not sure what else to try'. I'm fairly new to fixing up machines and quilting, so I'm hoping all you experts will have some suggestions.
Old 05-07-2016, 01:27 PM

Congratulations, it's a favorite model among free motion quilters. I'm having much the same issues with my machine right now. A couple of months a go it was all set up to free motion perfectly, but since I have sewn all kinds of projects, different thread weights and bobbin tension needs adjustment. You are correct, tenion has to be just right for FMQ. I see some recommend needle size 90 to 100 for FM. Some thing is up with my machine or thread, because I need to have tension way up, like 8, or I tend to get lots of loops under. I am also practising even movements of my hands as well as a steady speed.

For top tension I think the quick test is; turn the dial from about 0 to 9 (or even 0 to 0), it should turn fine with out any fuzz. Next step is to thread it up and check that tension gradually increase from 0 to 9 by pulling on the thread, obviously light on 0 and tight on 9. Thread should release when presser bar lever is up, and tighten when down (make sure needle bar is not in release position when testing).