Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main > For Vintage & Antique Machine Enthusiasts
Help!  Rockshaft oil wick replacement?? >

Help! Rockshaft oil wick replacement??

Help! Rockshaft oil wick replacement??

Old 03-24-2018, 11:47 AM

Default Help! Rockshaft oil wick replacement??

Soooo....I know just enough to be dangerous....and I am still learning. I picked up a 15-91 about 3 weeks ago and set about bringing it back to life. I've been working diligently most days to clean up the head and all the parts. The other night I had it turned over on its side and thought i saw a blob of greasy dust sticking out from somewhere...and get my tweasers and started pulling on it. Well..it wasn't a grease/dust blob...it was a wick. It took me 3 days to find a parts list that gave me enough detail to figure out what is IS! Now i know it's the rockshaft oil wick. So...does anyone know what size of braided wick i could use to replace this old thing? Also where I might be able to order one from?

Many thanks to whomever can offer some hope and assistance!

Sarah

Last edited by QuiltnNan; 03-24-2018 at 05:40 PM. Reason: remove shouting/all caps
Old 03-24-2018, 12:05 PM

I didn't kow the 15-91 had wicks anywhere but the motor? Are you sure? There's lots of hinges and joints under the base as well as behind the face plate and the round lid in the back. By rockshaft, you mean the horizontal rods under the base?
Old 03-24-2018, 05:51 PM