Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main > For Vintage & Antique Machine Enthusiasts
I'm looking at a machine on Craigslist..... >

I'm looking at a machine on Craigslist.....

I'm looking at a machine on Craigslist.....

Old 05-09-2012, 10:33 AM

Default I'm looking at a machine on Craigslist.....

Anyone ever seen one of these? Supposed to be 1960's vintage, and they are asking $100. I've never done a Craigslist transaction before and it's a bit daunting.
Attached Thumbnails tingler-1.jpg   tingler-2.jpg  
Old 05-09-2012, 12:32 PM

Can't say I have! And it looks pretty darn new too! I would sit down and do a sewing test if you can; if you find any problems you can use that as a haggling point to bring the final price down. I'd say you could probably get them down to $75. Love the pink!
Old 05-09-2012, 12:40 PM

Love the pink!
Old 05-09-2012, 12:44 PM

A machine you buy now for $100 has all plastic innards. Anything this vintage is probably much better metal structure inside, and Brother is a good name. I'd go for it if I were you. Since the box is still intact, it was either not used or well cared for. JMHO
Old 05-09-2012, 01:37 PM

Looks 60's vintage to me simply based on what I know Singers looked like in that era. As to a Craigslist transaction, my only suggestion would be to meet in some public place where you can test the machine. Perhaps a LQS, JoAnns or library??? I was very trusting buying a used serger via CL and it worked out fine but I did meet the lady in a public place. I'm also looking at another machine now that I will have to go to the person's home but DH will be with me and everything seems pretty legit. I can meet either the husband or the wife...just trying to work out details now. My only other comment is that it seems a tad high priced to me for it's age. You might want to try some negotiating. Then again, I'm really cheap when it comes to buying stuff!
Old 05-09-2012, 01:57 PM