Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   For Vintage & Antique Machine Enthusiasts (https://www.quiltingboard.com/vintage-antique-machine-enthusiasts-f22/)
-   -   Johnson Ruffling Machine giving me tension fits (https://www.quiltingboard.com/vintage-antique-machine-enthusiasts-f22/johnson-ruffling-machine-giving-me-tension-fits-t301428.html)

lindawmn 12-08-2018 04:29 PM

Johnson Ruffling Machine giving me tension fits

This is the machine, not the attachment. They were created from the old Singer 15s. I just can't get it to keep a proper tension. The top thread just lies flat and I can see the bobbin loops on the top of the fabric. I've loosened the tension and tightened the tension on the machine with the same results. Haven't tried the bobbin tension yet. Frustrating. Any thoughts? I'm somewhat new to sewing, so don't be afraid to insult me with the basics ;)

OurWorkbench 12-08-2018 04:47 PM

Are you sure it is threaded correctly? The thread needs to go between the discs, which hopefully are in the correct position to start with. I don't remember off the top of my head, but the check spring needs to be in the proper position and threaded correctly.

Janey - Neat people never make the exciting discoveries I do.

OurWorkbench 12-08-2018 06:22 PM

Be very careful with bobbin tension - it is a very small screw and easily lost. While you should be tightening it, sometimes things happen. A very strong magnet extremely close helps. Here again make sure it is threaded correctly, under the spring.

Janey - Neat people never make the exciting discoveries I do.

lindawmn 12-11-2018 02:21 PM

I brought up my bobbin case for the 15 downstairs I bought new, and sure enough, that solved the tension issues! I'll play around with the original case. Good tip on the magnet!!

Mickey2 12-11-2018 03:19 PM