Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main > For Vintage & Antique Machine Enthusiasts
Question on Treadle and Featherweight find >

Question on Treadle and Featherweight find

Question on Treadle and Featherweight find

Old 06-08-2018, 08:43 AM

Default Question on Treadle and Featherweight find

I have an opportunity tonight after work to purchase a Singer treadle machine for $200.00 and a Singer featherweight is being thrown in as a "bonus sewing machine". It comes with a puzzle box and accessories. (exact year and model are unknown by seller)
I am a complete newbie to antique machines. I have a beautiful class 15 Japanese made Dressmaker machine that I learned to sew/quilt on, and a few more modern machines.
My question is what should I be looking for? The cabinet has a bit of chipping on the top, but all the drawers are there and all the pieces to the treadle. The gentleman says everything turns.
My dh is a woodworker and is happy to take on any restoration. He's generally very handy around the house and has worked on cars his whole life. Are the mechanics simple enough that someone like him could restore an antique machine to use? Are parts accessible and affordable?

Thank you for any helpful advice you can offer

Janelle
Old 06-08-2018, 08:54 AM

If you were getting just a treadle, that's pretty high, depending on what is in it. The featherweight changes the deal. Make sure it has a bobbin case.
For the most part, I like to say the old sm heads are bombproof. Unless Igor tried to work on it.
Usually they need oiling, a cleaning, new belt and needle, tension adjusted, and are ready to go. It should have the shuttle and a few bobbins. Depending on manufacturer, needles may be harder to come by.
Bring thread and fabric with to test both machines. Perhaps you'll discover some bargaining room!
Old 06-08-2018, 09:08 AM

Thank you!
Old 06-08-2018, 10:01 AM

This is the machine cabinet.
Attached Thumbnails machine-cabinet.jpg  
Old 06-08-2018, 10:01 AM

This is the head: