Question on treadle machines

Old 01-20-2014, 06:10 PM

Default Question on treadle machines

Ok, As I said before, I bought my first vintage machine, a Singer 127 Treadle. I cleaned it up, got a new belt and it works really well. However, since I'm new at this I have a question. I wanted to lower the machine back into the cabinet, and it seriously stretches the belt. I'm afraid I am going to break my brand new belt. Is there a secret to lowering the machine without stretching (and/or breaking) the belt?
Old 01-20-2014, 06:14 PM

Take it off the wheel if that is the case. It shouldn't do that, so maybe you have it too tight? Would love to see a picture of your machine. Amy
Old 01-20-2014, 06:25 PM

Default Lever

Originally Posted by amyjo View Post
Take it off the wheel if that is the case. It shouldn't do that, so maybe you have it too tight? Would love to see a picture of your machine. Amy
My wheel, has a lever that flips the belt off the track.... it's a singer, maybe they all don't have that?
Old 01-20-2014, 06:30 PM

[ATTACH=CONFIG]457741[/ATTACH][ATTACH=CONFIG]457742[/ATTACH]
Here she is. I just opened it back up. Once I re-threaded the belt, it worked fine, I just have to remove it from the wheel each time I lower it into the cabinet. I didn't know if that was what was needed. I've never had one before, but it only took about an hour to get it running and sewing. I was really amazed.
Attached Thumbnails dscn1050.jpg   dscn1049.jpg  
Old 01-20-2014, 06:31 PM

Originally Posted by vanginney View Post
My wheel, has a lever that flips the belt off the track.... it's a singer, maybe they all don't have that?
Mine has a lever to flip it off too, it just doesn't go back on that easily.
Old 01-20-2014, 06:38 PM

you have a derailer right there in front of the treadle wheel. push it aside and turn the wheel and it knocks the belt off.