Sewing problem

Old 07-30-2013, 03:23 PM
KEN

Default Sewing problem

i have a 1942 singer.it will sew for about 2 inches then it stops sewing the fabric.i'm new to sewing but i'm good at machanical things like cars,guns,motorcycles and yada yada yada,but to me it acts like it's not picking up the bobbin thread.i'm no sewing machine machanic ( yet ).can someone tell me whats wrong and how to fix it? i would like to use this machine.it was my motherinlaws and she past away about 4 years ago.she had a sewing room.this machine and some others where in there.one is a domestic treadle,a kenmore,a singer zig zag.a bradford and a dressmaster.
Old 07-30-2013, 03:26 PM

Well, I can't help you one iota, but I want to welcome you to this wonderful board. Someone will come on here with much information. Just hang on a while until they get your message.
Old 07-30-2013, 03:42 PM

If the motor is still running and the needle is still going up and down but not picking up bobbin thread ... the problem could be one of several things:

Needle is old/worn - or inserted wrong direction (suspect direction is OK as it did pick up some stitches)
Threaded incorrectly - top or bottom
Poorly wound bobbin
Tension - top or bottom
Mechanical issue with the bobbin

You didn't mention the model of the machine. If known, you can do a google search for a manual for the machine and use the manual to make sure the machine is threaded properly. When un-threading and re-threading a machine - always lift the presser foot. Never thread or un-thread with the presser foot down. The manual will also tell you how to insert the needle, and how to insert the bobbin and thread it correctly.

I would attack the problem in the order listed above ... with the needle, then check threading ... etc.

When you check to see if the machine is threaded correctly, don't just look at the way it is threaded ... completely un-thread the machine (presser foot up) and re-thread. Ditto for the bobbin.