Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: What Do I Need To Know About Singer 500A?

Blog Entries

What Do I Need To Know About Singer 500A?

I'm new to vintage machines. I stumbled across a Singer 66-16 at an estate sale recently and thought the large throat would be great for machine quilting. As it turns out, the machine needs a lot of TLC.
    That lead me here and I have really enjoyed looking around. While learning all I can about restoring vintage machines I saw a picture of a Singer 500A and I was immediately transported to my childhood... I know this is the machine my mom used to teach me how to sew. She must have traded it in when she bought her brand new Singer Athena 2000 in the '70's (which still runs like a top.)
    So, please tell me what I should know about the Singer 500A. What concerns should I have in buying one... such as power cords/foot pedals easily replaced, etc.
    Any suggestions or help would be greatly appreciated!
    Thanks,
    NiaJane
    "What day is it?" asked Pooh
    "It's today." squeaked Piglet
    "That's my favorite day!" said Pooh

I have one of these and it's my favorite vintage machine! They're nicknamed "Rocketeer".

These are slant-shank machines, so the feet are slightly unique. But Singer made slant-shanks for awhile and the feet are still being made and are available online. Just hunt for "slant shank". Singer made buttonholers for slant-shank too, they come in a pink oval case; I see them periodically at thrift shops for around ten bucks.

There's the 500A and the 503A that look very similar and both are called "Rocketeer" - main difference is that the 500 has more built-in stitches. Both take cams; the cams are also pretty easy to find as they're the same style Singer used for a few different models.