Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Asking someone else's opinion

  1. #1
    pal
    pal is offline
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Long Island, N.Y.
    Posts
    1,208
    Why is it that we ask someone else's opinion if we don't like their
    taste?
    If your best friend wears the "worst" clothes, why ask her if this dress looks nice on you?

    If her home is completely beige, what are the chances that she will love your scrap quilt?

    And yet we still ask - every time. Does that mean that we just want someone to agree with us?

    I want to applique my shower curtain. My DSIL said that my shower curtain is gorgeous - so I stopped thinking about appliqueing it. Then I realized that her taste is NOT my taste, and I really want to applique flowers all over it!
    A real "Duh........" moment.

    Is it just me, or do you do the same thing?

  2. #2
    joan_quilts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Close to Breezewood, PA
    Posts
    398
    I sometimes ask for opinions and then usually do things my way. My friend and I both quilt but we don't have the same tastes in colors or patterns. I like what she does and she likes what I do. I won't ask her what she would do, but, how does what I am doing look to her. Usually get a good response.

  3. #3
    dungeonquilts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    468
    I will try to tell you this in my "thoughts/answer" again you may not agree: What we see with our eyes are not the same as another person seeing. Question about shower curtain: Does your DSIL not have a "nice" shower curtain as you do right now? If she doesn't, she likes the one you have and would appreciate one as nice as you have with out adding anything to it...maybe she is jealous that you can take something something (old or new) and add to it (making it look richer) and she can't do that. I think the question we should all ask ourself "is what do I have to lose, if I do it my way"! Send us a picture before/after we will give you our "opinion" In my opinion you may just be doing something that I never thought of doing or could not accomplish. Hope I am not wrong in posting this?

  4. #4
    Senior Member quiltbugs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    472
    I think I'm the opposite, I never ask anyone else's opinion on quilts I make, clothes I wear or anything else. I figure if I like it, that is good enough for me. :D

  5. #5
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Jefferson City MO
    Posts
    2,601
    Blog Entries
    1
    Its your shower curtain - do what you want - you are the one who will have to look at it everyday lol Why torture yourself everytime you look at it and have the applique thought in your head I say go for it.

    As far as asking someone elses opinion - I dont have too many people I can ask! My DH says its your project do it however you want -I sure dont ask you how to do my woodwork unless of course I am making it for you. My daughter says she cant help - the colors I have picked she wouldnt or couldnt imagine putting together but once its done she likes it!!! I have a girlfriend that is too opinionated on everything so I dont ask her opinion about anything. Tried several times but she always has to add something - its never what she would have done lol Dont get me wrong she is one of my best friends but I just take some of her opinions with a grain of salt and move one lol cheryl :D

  6. #6
    Power Poster CarrieAnne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Whitewater, WI
    Posts
    26,194
    I am like Pat. I just make my house the way I want it....its alot of pink and purple. And I live with all sons. I dont dress in style at all, I wear hand me downs and hand me ups, (from the kids)....I dont really care HOW anyone dresses, or has there home...
    With quilts, sometimes I will ask someone if they like this color with this other color, because if I am doing a charity quilt, I have to make sure the people will like it, lol!

  7. #7
    Senior Member PWinston's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    North Central Arkansas
    Posts
    864
    Blog Entries
    2
    I think frequently when we ask for someone's opinion we are just seeking affirmation. As you and other commenters have already recognized, opinions are based on your own tastes so everyones will differ. My opinion is that you should go with the flower applique.

    Here is a link to a recently posted shower curtain done in raw edge roses and it is gorgeous (just my opinion). http://www.quiltingboard.com/t-90920-1.htm

  8. #8
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Mabank, Texas
    Posts
    6,904
    I like to get others opinions. Sometime I take their advise and sometime I do it my way.

  9. #9
    Power Poster amma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Out searching for some sunshine :-)
    Posts
    59,113
    Blog Entries
    1
    I ask opinions hoping that I may get an idea that I haven't thought of and may like better than my own. However, I don't have a problem accepting or rejecting them :wink: :D:D:D

  10. #10
    Super Member sewwhat85's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    missouri
    Posts
    6,732
    i think i probably really dont want their opinion just want them to agree with me

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.