Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Introduce Yourself
Which machines should I consider? >

Which machines should I consider?

Which machines should I consider?

Old 11-09-2011, 05:11 PM

Default Which machines should I consider?

Hello :-)

I am new to this site and pretty new to quilting as well. I'm from New Jersey, and I am a first year teacher. I also crochet and am much better at that than quilting, lol.

I have been quilting by hand, but would like to try it with a machine. I don't have one, so I'm looking for advice. I don't want to spend a fortune, but I don't want to buy a hunk of junk either. Any advice is much appreciated!

Thanks,
Randi
Old 11-09-2011, 05:14 PM

I know the brand I would suggest but that would make it too easy for you. First, write down what you want in a machine. Just wanting it to 'sew' isn't enough anymore. I love Janome. A Janome 6600P has about everything anyone could want, 9" harp and thread cutter allows greater easy in quilting. Has the accufeed and is just wonderful.
Old 11-09-2011, 06:01 PM

Welcome. I'm new to this site too. Like Jdiane318 I recommend making a list. Then go to dealers. Janomes are very reliable and prices range from $500 - $2000. Happy sewing.
Old 11-09-2011, 06:45 PM
Power Poster

welcome from minnesota and happy quilting. there are lots of good machines. go to a dealer and try a few. i have mostly inexpensive ones, so can't help much
Old 11-09-2011, 08:56 PM

Welcome from western Pa. I love Viking's but I didn't start out with that. Go take some test drives,and see what they have to offer.
Old 11-09-2011, 09:52 PM

Hello and Welcome
Old 11-09-2011, 09:58 PM

A big welcome from the eastern part of Texas.
Old 11-10-2011, 12:02 AM

Originally Posted by HappyMonkey View Post
Hello :-)

I am new to this site and pretty new to quilting as well. I'm from New Jersey, and I am a first year teacher. I also crochet and am much better at that than quilting, lol.