Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
another batting question...polyester?? >

another batting question...polyester??

another batting question...polyester??

Old 05-13-2012, 09:43 AM

Default another batting question...polyester??

I have avoided using polyester batting because my quilting friends simply won't recommend it. I have been quilting for about two years, so I rely on their expertise. However, I do not like the antique crinkly look, and I just read on another thread that poly doesn't beard, like I had been told, and that it is the batting to use if I don't want the antique look. It is also fluffier, I think, which I wouldn't mind.

So, those of you who use polyester, does it really not beard and is there a preferred one to use?

Thanks,
Dina
Old 05-13-2012, 09:45 AM

Location: Small town in Northeast Oregon close to Washington and Idaho

Everyone I talk to says it beards, but I've always wanted to try it. I'm going to be checking this thread to see what everyone says. I, too, would like to try a fluffy quilt. I love the crinky look!
Old 05-13-2012, 09:54 AM

I love Quilter's Dream Poly. It handles like cotton but gives the quilt a nice modern look. It's not real fluffy like a comforter or purchased big box store quilt.
Old 05-13-2012, 10:03 AM
Power Poster

If your friends like cotton batting and the crinkly look ... that's right for them.
If you like puffy and no crinkles ... that's right for you!

There's so many options as to what and how that you could make many quilts before duplicating.

Why not try it on your next quilt and see how you like it?
Old 05-13-2012, 10:14 AM
Power Poster

I have two quilts with the 'loose' polyester -Mountain Mist brand (unneedled? I don't know the correct term for it) that have been in use for over 10 years and washed at least ten times each - I haven't noticed any bearding. One was hand quilted, one was machine quilted by stitch in the ditch.