Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Thread: another batting question...polyester??

another batting question...polyester??

I have avoided using polyester batting because my quilting friends simply won't recommend it. I have been quilting for about two years, so I rely on their expertise. However, I do not like the antique crinkly look, and I just read on another thread that poly doesn't beard, like I had been told, and that it is the batting to use if I don't want the antique look. It is also fluffier, I think, which I wouldn't mind.

So, those of you who use polyester, does it really not beard and is there a preferred one to use?

Thanks,
    Dina

Small town in Northeast Oregon close to Washington and Idaho
    Blog Entries
    Everyone I talk to says it beards, but I've always wanted to try it. I'm going to be checking this thread to see what everyone says. I, too, would like to try a fluffy quilt. I love the crinky look!
    "Be yourself...everyone else is taken."
    Strong people don't put others down...they build them up."
    "Remember that your instincts are more important than rules"

I love Quilter's Dream Poly. It handles like cotton but gives the quilt a nice modern look. It's not real fluffy like a comforter or purchased big box store quilt.

If your friends like cotton batting and the crinkly look ... that's right for them.
    If you like puffy and no crinkles ... that's right for you!

There's so many options as to what and how that you could make many quilts before duplicating.

Why not try it on your next quilt and see how you like it?
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Sew many ideas ... just sew little time!!
    https://www.flickr.com/photos/[email protected]/

Power Poster