Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Borders >

Borders

Borders

Old 07-02-2013, 04:15 PM

Question Borders

I am really new at quilting so excuse the ignorance-Is it ever ok to piece a border or is it better to be a solid piece of fabric. I find my self short on a quilt border and don't know what to do? You are all so experienced I know someone will have an answer! Thanks
Old 07-02-2013, 04:19 PM

Location: Asheville, previously Lake Vermilion, Tarpon Springs, Duluth, St Paul, Soudan

You can piece the border. No one will notice after it is quilted. If there is a noticeable pattern, be sure to match it at the seam. And seams in the diagonal (like when you join pieces of binding together) seem to me less obvious.
Old 07-02-2013, 04:19 PM

I always piece my borders. I use a 45* angle to join them, I think it helps hide the seam better.
Old 07-02-2013, 04:22 PM

I've done pieced borders and I've done single fabric borders. I've done no borders and I've done multiple fabric borders and I've loved them all!! Necessity is the mother of invention and if you've run out of a fabric you're going to have to do something. You've only got to please yourself and enjoy. Obviously, no quilt police for me!!! Ignorance is sometimes good 'cause you don't know you can't do something.
Old 07-02-2013, 04:31 PM

Thank you so much, I think the 45 degree angle might be best since its a solid color. I just wasn't sure what to do!
Old 07-02-2013, 04:32 PM

Of course you can piece borders! What I've done when I've run short of the border fabric is to add a square block the width of the border at each corner. Or if the design allows, put a completely different square at the ends. Or make a film-strip border using the preferred border fabric with the addition of another (or several) other fabrics. Your imagination is the only limitation. Have fun!
Old 07-02-2013, 05:07 PM
Power Poster

I almost always piece my borders. In fact they're often pieced from lots of different fabrics.