Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Thread: Borders

Question Borders

I am really new at quilting so excuse the ignorance-Is it ever ok to piece a border or is it better to be a solid piece of fabric. I find my self short on a quilt border and don't know what to do? You are all so experienced I know someone will have an answer! Thanks

Asheville, previously Lake Vermilion, Tarpon Springs
    Blog Entries
    You can piece the border. No one will notice after it is quilted. If there is a noticeable pattern, be sure to match it at the seam. And seams in the diagonal (like when you join pieces of binding together) seem to me less obvious.
    I arise in the morning torn between a desire to improve the world and a desire to enjoy the world. This makes it difficult to plan the day.

Kris

Blog Entries
    I always piece my borders. I use a 45* angle to join them, I think it helps hide the seam better.
    No one has ever become poor by giving. - Anne Frank
    Darkness cannot drive out darkness; only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate; only love can do that. - Martin Luther King, Jr.

http://www.etsy.com/shop/TheQuiltedPig

I've done pieced borders and I've done single fabric borders. I've done no borders and I've done multiple fabric borders and I've loved them all!! Necessity is the mother of invention and if you've run out of a fabric you're going to have to do something. You've only got to please yourself and enjoy. Obviously, no quilt police for me!!! Ignorance is sometimes good 'cause you don't know you can't do something.

Thank you so much, I think the 45 degree angle might be best since its a solid color. I just wasn't sure what to do!