Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 5 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 44

Thread: Christmas Swoon please give opinion

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    162

    Christmas Swoon please give opinion

    Name:  image.jpeg
Views: 2776
Size:  1.78 MBI am trying to get together a Christmas swoon quilt quickly. I am not a huge fan of red and green together. Do you think I can make it look holiday enough by just using red creams tan in the linen background that I am using? Or would you include some green? Honest opinions appreciated.

  2. #2
    Junior Member Altairss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    200
    I do like the colors you choose together but it does not quite read holiday well to me. do you by chance have a red that has a bit of green maybe in the way of leaves? Although you could also add a bit of a silver. I have some of the holiday flourish that has that touch of silver and it really gives off the holiday vibe. But truly do what makes you feel good.

  3. #3
    Power Poster lynnie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Long Island
    Posts
    33,647
    Blog Entries
    1
    it can be done without green, I can't see why not.
    put off till tomorrow what you can do today, and if you procrastinate long enough, you may never have to do it.

  4. #4
    Power Poster dunster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Lake Elsinore, CA
    Posts
    12,167
    I like the colors you're using. I'm not sure it will have a Christmas feel all by itself, but it will look lovely with other holiday decorations. And it's a bonus that it's not a strictly holiday quilt.

  5. #5
    Super Member Doggramma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Wis
    Posts
    3,580
    It's lovely the way it is, but if it were mine I'd add green, perhaps the pointy pieces in-between the red pieces.
    Lori

    *********
    trying to stay grateful

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    639
    I made one with a wintery theme, not necessarily "Christmas" the fabric collection had soft reds, a greyed tan (not yellowy), more of a "natural", and a soft blue-green. It was a beautiful collection, Kate and Birdie if you want to look it up to see the color combination.

  7. #7
    Super Member Jeanne S's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Tulsa, Ok
    Posts
    7,436
    I like it as is. It will be a "winter" quilt, you can leave it out long after the holidays are over. And it will look "Christmasy" with the red around other decorations.
    I just want to spend the rest of my life laughing.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Carolina
    Posts
    872
    Those are very interesting colors. I wouldn't have thought of it, but I like it. Do you think adding metallic gold would make it Christmas-y enough?

  9. #9
    Power Poster Mariposa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Eastern Washington
    Posts
    25,763
    Pretty colors! It can be used for more than just Christmas time too.
    Be a blessing to others, as you may entertain angels unaware!

  10. #10
    Super Member Girlfriend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    San Clemente, CA
    Posts
    1,183
    I would probably use green for sashing, but that's just me. I love red and green together....
    Creative clutter is better than idle neatness.

Page 1 of 5 1 2 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.