Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 26

Thread: EQ6 error #42, anyone have that?

  1. #1
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    9,333
    Blog Entries
    1
    For the first time in 25 years, we opened gifts tonight! :-D The kids suggested it. Everyone had nice hair. :lol:

    Anyway--I installed EQ6 and I can't open it. It reads "could not initialize application Error 42 IPM" I emailed tech support, but I'm sure with the holidays, I won't hear for a few days. So--has anyone installed and had that message? I'll start reading the book in the meantime.

  2. #2
    Power Poster amma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Out searching for some sunshine :-)
    Posts
    59,111
    Blog Entries
    1
    Were you connected to the internet when you were installing the program? It needs internet access to sucessfully install :D:D:D

  3. #3
    Power Poster amma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Out searching for some sunshine :-)
    Posts
    59,111
    Blog Entries
    1
    LMBO....I never would have thought of "nice hair" as being a reason to switch traditions :lol::lol::lol: I can see the appeal to this though!!!

  4. #4
    JJs
    JJs is offline
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    LA - Lower Alabama
    Posts
    894
    In case you can't find the answer, here's what that FAQ page says:

    This error 42 is Vista’s way of asking you for more permission. Here’s what to do:

    The short way:

    * Hold down your keyboard SHIFT key and Right-click the EQ6 shortcut on your desktop.
    * Choose Run As, or Run..., or Run As Administrator from the menu.
    * Allow this, then continue on with the activation.

    The long way:

    * Click START > Computer.
    * Double-click on your local disk C drive.
    * Double-click these folders: Program Files > Electric Quilt Company > EQ6.
    * In the opened EQ6 folder you will see two red and white files.
    * Right-click on the red and white EQ6 file that is an application file.
    * Choose Run as administrator.
    * Choose to Allow this and then continue with the activation.

    http://www.electricquilt.com/Support...te.asp#vista42

    http://doyoueq.com/phpBB3/index.php

  5. #5
    Power Poster amma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Out searching for some sunshine :-)
    Posts
    59,111
    Blog Entries
    1
    I keep forgetting about going to their website :roll:
    I only go there for the new fabric additions and their monthly newsletters :oops:

  6. #6
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    9,333
    Blog Entries
    1
    JJ--IT WORKED!!! THANK YOU SO MUCH!!!! I didn't think an error message would be on FAQ so I hadn't checked. You're a PEACH!! Off I go!

  7. #7
    Power Poster sewnsewer2's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    16,006
    Congrats barnbum! You will love it!

  8. #8
    Super Member charmpacksplus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Lafayette, Louisiana
    Posts
    1,649
    Let the fun begin!!!

  9. #9
    Super Member wvdek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    A million dollar view!
    Posts
    8,897
    I know what barnbum will be doing all day tomorrow!!!

    Have fun and Merry Christmas!

  10. #10
    JJs
    JJs is offline
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    LA - Lower Alabama
    Posts
    894

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.