Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst ... 2 3
Results 21 to 27 of 27

Thread: First try at FMQ

  1. #21
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    North Dakota
    Posts
    257
    Sometimes I have had trouble with bird nests on the bottom if my top tension is too loose, I can go for a while then just like you have a nest here and there and have to re-thread...so I tightened my top tension until I could just see a tiny peep of the bobbin thread come to my top. I use a 16/100 topstitch needle, I know it seems huge but I had trouble with thread fraying and snapping on me when I used a smaller needle eye. Best of luck!
    LIVE ~ LAUGH ~ LOVE

  2. #22
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    263
    My machine does not like C&C. I switched to Aurifil and works just fine.

  3. #23
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Northern KY
    Posts
    29
    I, too, am new at FMQ. On my practice pieces, I have been writing on the piece all of the information: Needle size and type, thread, machine settings etc. That way I have a better idea of what works and what doesn't as I am learning. Good luck.
    Mary

    Sew much fabric, sew little time

  4. #24
    Junior Member patti p's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Lake Isabella,calif
    Posts
    233
    Blog Entries
    2
    I just ordered some Aurifil thread, also I ma noticng that as the Bobbin is unwinding un even when i pull it out to re-thread it, it is thicker on the bottom than the top. how do i get it to wind and or unwind evenly. any suggestions?
    Patti P
    http://pattiscards.blogspot.com/

  5. #25
    Junior Member patti p's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Lake Isabella,calif
    Posts
    233
    Blog Entries
    2
    I GOT it to work! I am one happy camper yahoo!!!!! Well it seems that my machine does not like coats and Clark 30 weight cotton thread, I switched to a 50 weight from connecting threads, and put in a bobbin washer, and I have not had any hic-ups oh and my stitch length is at .05 I had it at zero but when this is working I do not dare change any thing more, lol thank you everyone for all the help.
    Patti P
    http://pattiscards.blogspot.com/

  6. #26
    Super Member BrendaY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    1,819
    Blog Entries
    6
    I read all the way through this thread and am so happy that you found the solution! Yayyyy!!

  7. #27
    Super Member DOTTYMO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    England Alton Towers
    Posts
    3,935
    Blog Entries
    1
    I have just had a similar problem tried everything. But then realised it was my top thread jumpingoutof the first and second places as you thread and missing the first discs at top of machine. I was just putting these back not thinking they were causing the problem. Keep going and good luck.
    Finished is better than a UFO

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst ... 2 3

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.