Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Freezer paper, fusible web, etc. I'm confused! >

Freezer paper, fusible web, etc. I'm confused!

Freezer paper, fusible web, etc. I'm confused!

Old 03-14-2010, 11:22 AM

Okay, I'm a newbie quilter (going on about 8 weeks now) and keep hearing about the following things:

Wonder Under
Steam a Seam
Freezer Paper
Fusible Web
Fusible interfacing

and the list could go on...

I assume that they are all used with applique but when do you use which one? What are the advantages of one over the other? Oh, and I'm intersted in machine applique, not hand if that matters.

Thanks, I really can't wrap my brain around this little issue.

:)
Old 03-14-2010, 11:33 AM
Power Poster

Wonder Under and Steam-a-Seam are two fusibles you can use for raw-edge applique. Typically you trace a pattern onto them (they come with a paper backing on each side), iron them on to the back of your applique fabric (which transfers one side of the adhesive to the fabric), cut out the pattern
along your traced lines, then fuse the shape to your background fabric. This makes a permanent fuse. Most people then machine stitch around the edges, as the edges can fray from washing/drying. This is a quick applique method and especially useful for wallhangings and art applications that won't get a lot of hard wear.

Fusible web is similar but is very fine. Misty Fuse is the current best on the market. I haven't used this yet, but the applications would be similar to the above. I think it is a little harder to work with, but it does not stiffen the fabric nearly as much.