Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 4 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 34

Thread: Help binding a rag quilt

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Northern Arkansas
    Posts
    20
    I am working on my first rag quilt, how am I suppost to do the outside binding, is it suppost to be closed up or does it get snipped also?

  2. #2
    Panther Creek Quilting's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Central Missouri Backwoods
    Posts
    797
    It gets snipped also. At least that is the way I have always done them.

  3. #3
    Power Poster Sadiemae's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Idaho
    Posts
    11,365
    Blog Entries
    20
    I snip mine also. I have see people bind them, but that is not for me!

  4. #4
    Member hmay60's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    72
    You can bind like you do on a quilt, or what I do is stitch a half inch from the edge, on all sides and rag like the rest of the quilt.

  5. #5
    Power Poster amma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Out searching for some sunshine :-)
    Posts
    59,111
    Blog Entries
    1
    You can do it either way, both work fine :D:D:D

  6. #6
    Super Member grammy Dwynn's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    1,993
    Blog Entries
    2
    On my rag quilts I sew 1/2" around the quilt and then snip . . done. ;)

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Northern Arkansas
    Posts
    20
    Ok, do I make that seam the same size as all the rest or bigger

  8. #8
    Moderator kathy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    on the Texas Coast
    Posts
    3,680
    1/2" is a good rag seam

  9. #9
    bj
    bj is offline
    Super Member bj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Lubbock, Texas
    Posts
    3,465
    Quote Originally Posted by shyflower
    Ok, do I make that seam the same size as all the rest or bigger
    If you already have the quilt done, I'd use the same seam size you used to join the squares.

  10. #10
    Power Poster nativetexan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    1,ooo miles from home
    Posts
    13,015
    Blog Entries
    2
    i've done them with binding (without snipping of course) and without binding (with snipping the edges). works both ways.

Page 1 of 4 1 2 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.