Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Help. long arm mechanic in Conway AR area >

Help. long arm mechanic in Conway AR area

Help. long arm mechanic in Conway AR area

Old 02-17-2016, 07:43 PM

Default Help. long arm mechanic in Conway AR area

I am in desperate need of a long arm mechanic in Conway AR area. My beautiful quilt has some backlashing ( but worse). I ended up taking areas out and redoing it but I can't keep do that. Please any suggestion is welcomed. My long arm machine is an older Nustyle and the nearest dealer is in Stover, MO about 10 hrs away.
Old 02-17-2016, 07:52 PM

Have you ever tried Magic Genie bobbin washers? I'm new to quilting but have heard they help with backlashing.
Old 02-17-2016, 08:16 PM

Just looked online at the Magic Genie bobbin washer. They are worth buying and trying. Anything is better than ripping out section of a quilt and rest itching it.
Old 02-17-2016, 08:49 PM

I agree, worth a try, for sure.
Old 02-18-2016, 05:11 AM
Power Poster

If the eyelashing is on the back, that probably means that the upper tension is off (problem on the back, usually upper tension, problem on the front usually bobbin). I would thoroughly clean your tension discs to make sure there's no lint or fluff. Not familiar with Nustyle, but most older long arms are mechanical machines and any good experienced sewing machine repair person should be able to service it.
Old 02-18-2016, 05:25 AM
Power Poster

Call Pinwheel Fabric in Alexander on Hwy 5. There is a long arm set up in the shop and it is a dealership for Janome and Sweet 16. The owner is super nice and would know repairman in the area.
Old 02-18-2016, 05:49 AM
Power Poster